2013: A Year in Beer

freddy

What a year!  It’s hard to believe that last year this time I was huddled in front of my computer in similar freezing weather, wondering whether my Kickstarter campaign would be successful or not.  Fast forward six months, and I was opening the doors on July 19th.  My first two offerings, Hopsail and Logan’s Song, turned out very well, if not a little bit under-carbonated.  Over the last six months, I’ve gotten to brew and offer a lot of beers.  I love all my customers and want to extend my thanks to you all for staying with me through the good and the not-so-good.  I feel like I am starting to get pretty comfortable with the system, and I have been really happy with what’s been on tap lately.  And I think you have, too, because the feedback and word of mouth has gotten really good!  So thanks!

Let’s take a look at what’s been put on tap:

Hopsail–Belgian single

Logan’s Song–English pale ale

Thunder–American pale ale

Summer Night–Raspberry dark saison

Logan’s Bite–English IPA

Heartsong–Belgian dubbel

Storm–American IPA

Logan’s Mild–English mild ale

Bad Boy–Black ESB

Time Byder–Old ale

Jake o’ Lantern–Pumpkin ale

Hellfire–Black IPA

Wishing Well–Dry stout

Shadow of Truth–Black tripel

Dawn of Summer–Blackberry saison

Free Yourself–Brett brux pale ale

Seek Truth–Cherrywood tripel

Pure Fiction–Sour Belgian tripel

Coconut Boy–Coconut ESB

Force of Nature–Fresh hop double IPA

So that’s 18 beers so far.  About half of those were recipes I had previously nailed down, and the other half were totally experimental ten gallon batch beers that I would put on tap over the weekend.  Out of all of those experiments, I only had to make one minor change to Free Yourself–the rest turned out absolutely perfect the first go and sold out over the weekend.  This is my favorite part of this whole thing: experimenting and creating interesting new beers.  If you’d like a recipe for any of these beers, feel free to reply or send me a message.

So what does 2014 hold?  First, we’ll be brewing the first 30 BBL batch of Shadow of Truth with Beltway Brewing in Sterling this Friday, which will go out for distribution to many area restaurants and bars in a month from now.  Once it warms up, we’ll start up with Summer Night instead.

And, of course, I am going to offer a lot of new beers.  Here are some of the new ones I am working on for this year:

Realize Truth–Elderberry quad

Stoicism–Coffee quad

Infinity–Brett C version of Time Byder

Unleashed–Brett C version of Logan’s Song

True Vision–Belgian blonde IPA

Universal Religion–Brett brux blonde ale

Senbonzakura–Cherry Tripel made with rice

Nature’s Wrath–Triple IPA

Witchcraft–Brett trois quad

I’m a Pirate–Coconut lemonbalm American blonde

Maple Man–Maple porter

About crookedrunbrewing

Brewmaster
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013: A Year in Beer

  1. Roy Ventullo says:

    Congrats and hope you have more more brews in your future.

Leave a Reply

