The Problem With Beer Reviewing

flight2

I am going to get a little controversial in this post.  Please bear with me.  Disclaimer: some of this comes from the natural negative feelings you get when you read poor reviews of your own work.  I’ve served some bad beer at the brewery back when I was getting my process down, but I do know the good beers I’ve made, and it hurts to see them rated poorly.  Take what I say with a grain of salt, but trust that I do have a thick skin, and the following post is really a larger point than just wounded pride.

Untappd.  Ratebeer.  Beer Advocate.  Beer rating apps and websites are ubiquitous these days.  They help connect craft beer fans and can help provide useful information on styles and breweries.  These are good things.  If you use such sites, more power to you.  They can be a fun way to socialize and stay updated on friends and new brands of beer.

Here’s the problem.  Beer reviews aren’t really indicative of good beer.  If a beer misses the mark or has some flaws, it should be rated lower.  We can all pretty much agree on that.  There’s another caveat that we can probably agree on as well.  Critics must be objective.  A film critic may not really care for summer blockbusters, but can still give an objective review of one.  That’s part of the skill of being a critic.

Here’s the list of top-rated beers on Ratebeer.  Almost every single one of the top 50-rated beers is an imperial stout.  The others are mostly double IPA’s or quads.  You’d be crazy not to see a problem with this.  Not a single beer in the top 50 is anything close to a session ale.  Imperial stout, the heaviest style in existence, absolutely dominates.  You may be thinking, “Yeah, bigger beers always take the top ratings.  Tell me something I don’t know.”  I just wanted to point out the sheer ridiculousness of this, but let’s go a bit further.

Here’s the Ratebeer page for Devil’s Backbone Vienna Lager.  Devil’s Backbone is an excellent Virginia brewery, and their flagship beer, a Vienna lager, is all over the place in the state.  It’s a very nice beer, and is one of my go-to’s if I am out and about.  Unfortunately, it has a score of 47/100.  Basically, an F.  Comments are mostly along the lines of “bland,” “boring,” or “thirst-quencher.”

It’s a Vienna lager.  A nicely made one.  It is supposed to be a malt-forward, easy-drinking lager, with good flavor from German kilned malts.  It is not supposed to be over-the-top.  The problem is that a lot of reviewers are comparing it to imperial stouts, double IPA’s, and other beers.  To give objective reviews, you need to be familiar with the style, even if it isn’t your favorite style.  This is my larger point…if you want to review beers, take it upon yourself to broaden your horizons and educate yourself on the different styles of beer.  If you absolutely hate a style and cannot give an objective review, maybe it’s best to not review it.  This is just my opinion, but I think that it would create a better beer-reviewing culture.  A lighter beer is not unequivocally worse than a heavier style.

That aside, Vienna Lager was the top-selling beer in Virginia last summer.  This is because, in my experience, the beer reviewing crowd isn’t really representative of the beer-drinking crowd.  If they were, Russian imperial stouts would be all you would see.  Most people want a good, easy-drinking style.  The strongest beer they will drink is an IPA.  With the rise of session ales, we are going to start seeing the lines between light lager drinkers and craft drinkers converge.  It’s a good thing.

 

About crookedrunbrewing

Brewmaster
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Problem With Beer Reviewing

  1. Pingback: The Problem With Beer Reviewing | VA Beer Trail

  2. Bob says:

    Amen! I truly believe there is a mind set of who can drink the Hoppiest Beer, like who can eat the hotest peppers. A macho thing. Good beer is good beer, regardless the catagory. That’s why I have a problem getting friends to try dark beers, they been given the impression the Russian Imperial Stout is what they all taste like. My corner of the world has two craft houses. One I like his Scottish Ale the other his Pilsner. Looking forward to trying yours if I ever get up that way.

  3. Nicholas Krukowski says:

    Jake, I agree. I have gotten better at trying to review a beer with the objective of recognizing the style and complimenting it as such. If you make a rauchbier, I’ll just go ahead and not review it because I can’t really give a fair rating as I don’t understand or appreciate the style. I prefer huge unfiltered IPAs and have a hard time tasting easy drinking IPAs and giving them their fair shake. I agree with you that barrel aged everything, stouts and huge IPAs are making the lesser flavor bombs receive lower ratings. I think it will get better as people spend more time drinking good well made beers and stop chasing beer white whales.

  4. Couldn’t agree more. Everyone has their preferences, and that’s OK. I for one love desserts but hate key lime pie. That doesn’t mean key lime pie is bad; it just means I don’t like it. And because of that, I would never rate / judge key lime pie. The same logic should be applied to any beer style you don’t like.

  5. Thanks, glad you guys feel the same way. I think that the beer reviewing crowd has been the tail that wags the dog for the industry. Bomb, Dark Lord, Hunahpu, and such beers create huge buzz but 99% of beer drinkers are not going to like those beers. The most acquired tastes are always the most highly-vaunted. Meanwhile your average guy or gal may have felt a bit put-off by craft beers if they’ve never been exposed to a good session ale. My friend went back to Bud Light and Blue Moon because for him, craft beer was all IPA’s.

  6. Obxer says:

    “Vienna Lager was the top-selling beer in Virginia last summer. This is because, in my experience, the beer reviewing crowd isn’t really representative of the beer-drinking crowd.” I agree with your conclusion or experience, there – and while I love DB’s beers, I disagree with one possible inference: the fact that it was the top selling beer can, naturally, say very little about its quality. Just take a look at the top 20 selling beers in America: http://www.bizjournals.com/dayton/gallery/22721 Bud Light was #1 again. And Bud Light Lime Straw Ber Ita actually made the list.

    • Yep, good point. I guess my perspective is rating to style. Bud Light is what it is, a light lager. When I taste a beer, I compare it against its peers, or if it is something unique, I try to evaluate whether the brewery accomplished what it was going for. Since most people who review beers tend to prefer full-flavored beers, they are unlikely to objectively rate a beer.

Leave a Reply

