The Master Series Part II: One Thousand Leaves

I met Lori O’Rea while I was working at the Penn Quarter farmers market last week.  She works for S & S Maple Camp, a Maryland maple syrup farm.  After chatting for a bit, she asked me the question I was just about to ask her: “Have you ever used maple syrup to make beer?”  I told her that I was definitely interested in making some maple beers, so she gave me a bottle of S & S grade B pure maple syrup to use.  Grade B is dark syrup, the kind you use in cooking and definitely the kind you use to make beer.  Maple syrup is almost completely fermentable, so you need to use a robust syrup that will leave a residual flavor.

After running some ideas through my head for the last week, I came up with the next beer in the Master Series, my bottled line of extra-special beers.  This beer is called One Thousand Leaves.  It is a maple strong ale, clocking in at 8% ABV with three pounds of maple syrup for a distinct flavor and smooth, dry finish.  British pale ale malt gives it a toasty background, with a touch of chocolate malt for color and subtle flavor.

I’m also making a maple porter for Thanksgiving, which I plan on sharing with Lori as well as my friends at Endless Summer Harvest.

Read more about the Master Series and the first beer in the series, Realize Truth, here.

About crookedrunbrewing

Brewmaster
This entry was posted in The Master Series, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

