My Favorite Commercial Beers

us_mixed_case_squaresmall1

I thought I’d do a little write-up of some of my favorite commercial beers.  I’ve tried a lot of craft beers, but I come back to these ones time and again.  These are my favorites for a variety of reasons.

1. They taste good!

2. They are inexpensive.

3. They are not too hard to find.

So without further adieu, here are some very good beers!

1. Sierra Nevada Torpedo–American IPA.  This is probably the beer I buy the most.  Fresh and hoppy, you can find this beer everywhere.  Signature Citra hops make this slightly darker IPA one of my favorites.

2. Devil’s Backbone Vienna Lager–Vienna Lager.  DB is out of my home state of Virginia and won a gold at the GABF for their Vienna Lager.  Vienna lager is a darker, maltier lager somewhere between a Helles and a Marzen.  If you want a smooth but flavorful beer, look no further.  Negra Modelo is another nice example.

3. Leffe Brune–Belgian dubbel.  This is a new recent favorite of mine since it just started showing up again in the U.S.  I love this beer.  It is a nice dry dubbel, not sweet, with a bit of chocolate and biscuit.  Also, it’s a steal at $8.50 a six pack compared to most Belgian beer.  A great foray into Belgian ales.

4. Bell’s Double Cream Stout–Milk stout.  This is hands down my favorite stout.  It’s just very pleasant, not too roasty, and not too sweet.  I could drink this all winter long.  Bell’s does stouts better than any brewery, and the rest of their stouts are great as well.

5. Ommegang Three Philosophers–Belgian quad.  This is a very complex, wonderful Belgian quad, with notes of toffee, biscuit, and cherry and a dry finish.  It’s quite different–a lot paler–than my quad that I make, but every bit as good.

6. Chimay White–My favorite tripel on the market.  Perfect for a special occasion; grainy, with pleasant yeast notes and an effervescent mouthfeel.  Westmalle tripel may be the original, but Chimay does it the best in my opinion.

7. Flying Dog Raging Bitch–Belgian IPA.  This is massive Belgian IPA clocking in at 8.3% ABV, loaded with hops.  This is a very dry beer but is also pretty malty…a deadly combination for hangovers.  Still, I’ve been known to drink a few…or six.

8. Weihenstephaner Hefeweizen–Hefeweizen.  The benchmark of the style.  Weizens aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but if you want a great German wheat beer, look no further.  One of these on a nice summer day is heaven.  Even better, a massive 32 oz glass full.

9. Bell’s Two-Hearted Ale.–IPA.  This is one of the more popular IPAs for bars to carry, which is great.  Two-Hearted is a single-hop centennial IPA.  So if you’re wondering what centennial hops taste like…they’re awesome.  Herbal is the word I use to describe them.

10. Sam Adams Octoberfest–Marzen.  This is a seasonal, but based on how much I drank this beer during last fall I had to put this on the list.  Without a doubt the best beer Sam Adams makes, and available practically everywhere, even at 7-11!  A malty, delicious lager that I look forward to every year!

About crookedrunbrewing

Brewmaster
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

